Smith, All-Star teammates ready for Hoosiers’ Reunion Classic

Smith, All-Star teammates ready for Hoosiers’ Reunion Classic

Auction Gallery 21 • 440 Ariens Ave. #3 • (765) 541-3588 • 827-1104

When the Terhune Tigers tangle with the Hickory Huskers on Friday, June 2, Connersville High School graduate Grant Smith will be one of seven members of the Indiana Boys All-Star team displaying his talent, and one of four trying to beat the legendary ‘home’ team.

Grant vs Ben Davis - Doug J
Connersville High School graduate and 2017 Indiana boys All-Star Grant Smith will play in the Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic at Knightstown’s Historic Hoosier Gym. (File photo by Doug Jordan)

Smith — the sixth boys player from CHS to earn a spot on the Indiana All-Star team — will play for the Terhune team when it goes against the Huskers in the 2017 Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic at Historic Hoosier Gym in Knightstown.

Historic Hoosier Gym was the home gymnasium of the Hickory Huskers of ‘Hoosiers’ the movie fame.

The girls-boys doubleheader begins at 6 p.m. with the young women taking the court first. The boys game is scheduled to tip off at 8 p.m.

“I’m really looking forward to it. It will be interesting and great to play with some of the top high school talent in the state,” Smith said. “It’s going to be fun and a really good experience.”

Historic Hoosier Gym seats just 665 fans, according to Kip Wesner, team coordinator for the games, who said officials expect the event to sell out before June 2.

“Ticket sales have been pretty good so far and it nearly always sells out prior to the games,” said Wesner. “All seats are reserved so people should contact us as soon as possible.” 

Ticket information can be obtained by calling (317) 925-8200. All seats are $25. The event is a significant fundraiser for the gymnasium and its upkeep.

Smith once again will see some familiar faces he’s gone up against on the court, with most of them playing on the Hickory team.

The Huskers’ roster includes All-Star Michael Ertel (Mt. Vernon, Fortville), Mark Albers (Pendleton Heights), Hunter Ferris (Cambridge City Lincoln), David Froedge (New Castle), Tyler Smith (Northeastern), Courvoisier McCauley (Indianapolis Manual) and Datrion Harper (Ben Davis).

Indiana Wesleyan Wildcats logoThe 6-6 Smith, who will attend Indiana Wesleyan University, averaged 18.9 points, 9.9 rebounds, 4.7 assists, 1.6 steals and 1.4 blocked shots to help lead Connersville to a school-best 27-2 record.

The historical season ended in the championship game of the Southport Regional when CHS lost to eventual Class 4A state champion Ben Davis, 44-21.

Now, Smith is looking forward to playing in the Hoosiers’ Reunion Classic as well as the annual IndianaKentucky All-Star series.

2017 Indiana All-Star Grant Smith throws down a vicious two-hand jam against Northeastern during the regular season. (File photo by Doug Jordan)

“Playing in the Reunion Classic and the all-star games against Kentucky will be something I’ll never forget. It’s a real honor and I’m looking forward to it,” he said.

“I can’t wait for the all-star games. We want to show Kentucky what Indiana basketball is all about.”

As far as the Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic, Wesner is enthused, and extremely busy coordinating the 12th event.

“We have 17 Indiana All-Stars playing, seven boys and 10 girls, so we’ll have some excellent talent on the court,” he said. “It should be two great games.”


Notes: A limited number of seats are available. Call (317) 925-8200 to order tickets. 

Rushville’s Kaitlyn Howe will play for the Hickory team in the girls contest. 

The first game of the annual Indiana-Kentucky All-Star series is Saturday, June 10 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. The girls game begins at 5 p.m. with the boys game tipping off at 7:15 p.m.

Game 2 will be played on June 11 at the Civic Center in Frankfort, Ky., with the girls action starting at 1 p.m. and the boys game set for 3:15 p.m.

The boys All-Stars will be coached by Marty Beasley of Fort Wayne Carroll with Connersville head coach Kerry Brown and Mark Galloway of Culver Academy serving as assistant coaches.

Two Junior-Senior exhibition games will be played, the first on June 6 at New Albany, the second at Plainfield on June 8.

The games will be doubleheaders with the girls contests tipping off at 6 p.m. and the boys action beginning at 8 p.m.

Rosters for the Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic 

Boys teams

Terhune Tigers 

Grant Smith • Connersville (Indiana Wesleyan) ••• 

Jaylen Minnett • Terre Haute South (IUPUI) •••

Mack Smith • Warren Central (Eastern Illinois) •••

Jermaine Cousinard • East Chicago Central (undecided) •••

Jacob Redding • Ft. Wayne Carroll (Louisville) 

Nike Sibande • Crispus Attucks (Miami, Ohio) 

Kobe Webster • Park Tudor (Western Illinois) 

Tim Abel • Indian Creek (Cincinnati Christian) 

Sterling Brown • Carmel (Marian) 

Haden Deaton • McCutcheon (Grace) 

Gavin Griggs • Shenandoah (Olivet Nazarene) 

Trevor Lakes • Lebanon (UIndy) 

Coach: Dave McCollough (Shenandoah)

••• = Indiana All-Star 


Hickory Huskers 

Michael Ertel • Mt. Vernon (Louisiana Monroe) •••

Cooper Neese • Cloverdale (Butler) •••

Jaylen Butz • Ft. Wayne North (DePaul) •••

Mark Albers • Pendleton Heights (Marian)

Hunter Ferris • Cambridge City Lincoln (undecided)

David Froedge • New Castle (prep school)

Jalen Adaway • Logansport (Miami, Ohio)

Datrion Harper • Ben Davis (IU-East)

Matt Jennings • Logansport (Grace)

JonRoss Richardson • Lapel (Rollins)

Tyler Smith • Northeastern (Florida Southern)

Courvoisier McCauley • Indianapolis Manual (prep school)

Coach: Travis Daugherty (Mt. Vernon, Fortville)

••• = Indiana All-Star


Girls teams 

Terhune Tigers 

Destiny Perkins • Lawrence North (Akron)

Paige Barrett • Scottsburg (Murray State)

Riley Blackwell • Plainfield (Northern Illinois)

Kayla Casteel • Plainfield (Evansville)

Maliah Howard-Bass • Columbus North (Ball State)

Bre Lloyd • Hamilton Southeastern (Wright State)

Rachel McLimore • Zionsville (DePaul)

Reagan McMurray • New Palestine (Illinois Wesleyan)

Courtney Raymer • Triton Central (IU-South Bend)

Zion Sanders • Evansville Central (Iowa)

Macee Williams • Fountain Central (IUPUI)

Coaches: Bryant Graham (Triton Central) and Pat McKee (Columbus North)


Hickory Huskers 

Katie Helgason • Greenfield-Central (Ball State)

Madison Wise • Greenfield-Central (Iowa State)

Kaitlyn Howe • Rushville (undecided)

Olivia Porter • New Castle (Ball State)

Ajanae’ Thomas • North Central (Indiana State)

Katrina Christian • Crothersville (Eastern Illinois)

Taylor Drury • Eastern (Pekin) (UIndy)

Brooke James • Princeton (Wabash Valley)

Nicole Konieczny • South Bend St. Joseph (Valparaiso)

Karissa McLaughlin • Homestead (Purdue)

Anne Secrest • Tippecanoe Valley (Youngstown State)

Coach: Corie West (New Castle)

Noah’s Battery, 320 E. 30th St., 692-0488

Lindy’s Liquor, 613 Grand Ave., 825-8731

The Pizza Place, 105 E. 16th St., 825-4242

Photos by Doug Jordan, 265-1230 —

Please Support Connersville’s Locally-Owned Businesses!

Mr. Pizza, Cambridge City

Mr. Pizza, 239 W. Main St., Cambridge City, 478-4721

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s